1beeraday's Blog

December 8, 2009

December Stout

Filed under: Uncategorized — David Summers @ 1:00 am

Brewed a Chocolate Mint Stout last night.  What a douzy.  It was an all=grain recipe from ‘Radical Brewing’, but I added a few things.  Like actual raw cacoa, spearmint altoids and fiddled with the malt extracts instead of using a masher to do the grains.  So, we will see?  I used 6.6 lbs of Amber Malt Extract as a replacement for the 8lbs of Pale Ale malt that was requested for the recipe.  There was another 3 lbs of grain that I steeped for an hour prior to added the extract.  I talked to the guys at Hop-To=It, and they recommended my strategy, but still.  I was looking at my Imperial Pale which had 6.6 lbs of Malt extract and only .5 lb of grain.  So I am curious if my beer will be a BIG beer, i.e. 9% or more ABV like  the IMPA.  We’ll see I guess?  The whole thing was a whacky process as I only had the ingredients and no real recipe, so I improvised basically the whole thing besides the preliminary steps.  I am exciting however.  If it turns out good at all, I may enter it into the Southern Sun Stout contest at the end of the month.

http://www.mountainsunpub.com/index.html

Hooray for Winter!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

